WIAW: Back at the Dining Halls + Christmas Spirit

Standard

Welcome to yet another What I ate Wednesday! Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I know I did-you can read about it here. As always, a big thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting each week! Check out her blog for even more delicious eats!

For starters, I’m going to have to figure out ways to get better photos of my breakfasts because usually my roommate is still asleep when I am up and my desk lamp is just not cutting it for me! Anyway, I made one of my favorite and most simple breakfasts involving 4 ingredients: bread, banana, PB, and cinnamon.I used this bread I made over break. I don’t know if I did something wrong, but it didn’t rise as much as I thought it would-it is called sandwich bread and the recipe’s photos look more like a normal loaf. Oh well. Still really good! Topped with peanut butter, cinnamon, banana slices, and more cinnamon.

Lunch was another random assortment. There was steamed veggies, greek spanikopita, roasted apples, and a bean salad with an addition of guac! Loved the avocado in it and will definitely do it again! Oh, and I thought I’d try some beets in the mix since they had diced them up instead of having slices. Nope. Can’t do it. They taste like dirt to me!

I’m still getting used to going to dinner after class and it’s already dark out-even as early as 5:45! This plate included string beans with red onion (yum), hummus and grape tomatoes, a pre-made salad with peppers, spinach, and a vinaigrette. I added a little trail mix on top. Kiwi and clementine for dessert!

Snacks of the day: black grapes, almonds, an apple, and a slice of my homemade bread with pb.

As a side note, I’m definitely getting in the Christmas spirit! Christmas music is currently playing and my floor will be decorating this Sunday which I’m looking forward to! Plus, on Monday morning, there was a little snow on the cars and grass!

Our new bulletin board asks about your favorite Christmas song and memory.

I wrote my favorite songs are Carol of the Bells, Silent Night, Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree, White Christmas, Jingle Bell Rock, and the Nutcracker Suite.

My favorite memories are picking out and decorating our tree (have to miss it this year!), baking cookies, making gifts, fires in the fireplace, and shopping in downtown Indy at the holidays!

I love seeing my lights on my desk with the lights off!

My roommate brought back this adorable tree!

I have 3 days of class left this week, dead week is next week, and then finals! It should go by quickly! Soon I’ll be back home baking all the Christmas cookies I desire!

~Anna

One response »

Leave a Reply

