Eat This!

Standard

The Huffington Post published an article that caught my attention and I thought I’d share it here on my blog. It highlighted 5 foods that are in season specifically in December. I love the idea of seasonal eating. Although it’s not always possible to do so when you don’t cook your own food, like in college with a meal plan, I still think this information is useful.

produce_slider2

The five foods they feature look so healthy and I want to eat them up! They include: mushrooms, bok choy, broccoli, celeriac, and garlic. I have yet to try celeriac, but I’ve had the others!

It sparked a few ideas in my mind of ways I would want to use this in-season produce. Simply roasted broccoli with a little garlic has to be one of my favorite ways to eat broccoli! This Bok Choy Skillet Supper from Vegetarian Times looks amazing and it also includes mushrooms! I googled recipes for celeriac and it looks like it’s commonly used in soup. This celeriac soup recipe from La Tartine Gourmande looks so rich and comforting!

Click Here to view the slideshow and read about the health benefits of these superfoods.

Here’s what I found captivating from the article:

  • “A number of varieties [of mushrooms] have antiviral, immunity-boosting and anti-inflammatory properties, WebMD reported.”
  • Bok choy is rich in vitamin K.
  • Broccoli provides lots of vitamin C and “has one of the highest antioxidant ratings around.”
  • Celeriac is also known as celery root and contains lots of fiber, vitamin B6, and potassium.
  • Garlic is thought to have anti-cancer properties!

Hope your week is going swell! Do your health a favor and try these in-season foods this December! If you have any recipes you would like to share using one or more of these foods, comment below!

~Anna

Leave a Reply

