Raw Lemon Bars

P1040700P1040695Like I promised in my last post, I am sharing the recipe for one of my favorite desserts I’ve made in a while. I think I liked it so much because I could feel the ingredients nourishing my body, unlike other sweet treats. The cleansing lemon, healthy fats from the almonds and cashews and the natural fruit sugars in the dates leave you without guilt while devouring these tart squares of bliss. They are so energy dense and I feel satisfied after eating just a small square. The perfect dessert, I’d say!P1040696

Raw Lemon Bars//Makes 16 bars

Crust:

  • 3 cups almonds
  • 1 1/4 cups dates, pitted and chopped
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Zest from 3 lemons
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2/3 cups unsweetened coconut flakes

Frosting:

  • 1 cup cashews
  • 2 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp honey (or maple syrup to make it vegan)
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp water

For the crust, place almonds in a food processor and process until they are finely ground. Add salt, dates,vanilla and lemon juice. Process until the dough sticks all together when you pinch it. Pour dough into a bowl and “massage” in coconut flakes with your hands. Press the crust into an 8×8 square pan and set aside.

For the frosting, blend all ingredients for it in a clean food processor until it is creamy. Scrape down sides of food process half way through to make sure everything is incorporated. Spread it over the crust when it’s smooth. Top with lemon zest and coconut flakes if desired.

Place in the refrigerator to chill for about an hour.

Cut and serve. ENJOY!

~Anna

Leave a Reply

